NIHSS Certification Online: A Step-by-Step Guide

Obtaining NIHSS (National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale) certification is crucial for healthcare professionals involved in stroke care. The certification ensures that you have the knowledge and skills required to accurately assess and quantify the severity of stroke symptoms. The good news is that you can complete NIHSS certification online, making it accessible and convenient. In this article, we will provide a step-by-step guide to help you obtain NIHSS certification online.

Step 1: Eligibility Check

Before you begin the process of NIHSS certification online, it’s essential to check your eligibility. Typically, NIHSS certification is available to healthcare professionals, including doctors, nurses, paramedics, and therapists, who are directly involved in stroke care. Ensure that you meet the eligibility requirements for the certification program you plan to enroll in.

Step 2: Choose an Accredited Provider

NIHSS certification is provided by various accredited organizations and institutions. It’s crucial to choose a reputable and recognized provider to ensure the certification is widely accepted in the healthcare industry. You can find a list of authorized NIHSS providers on the official NIHSS website or by conducting a quick online search.

Step 3: Register and Create an Account

Once you’ve chosen an accredited provider, visit their website to begin the registration process. You will need to create an account or log in if you already have one. Be prepared to provide your personal and professional information, including your full name, contact details, and professional credentials.

Step 4: Enroll in the Certification Course

After creating an account, you can enroll in the NIHSS certification course. Some providers offer different levels of certification, such as initial certification, re-certification, and instructor certification. Choose the appropriate course based on your current certification status and needs.

Step 5: Complete the Online Training

The online training program typically includes modules or lessons that cover the NIH Stroke Scale and its application. You will have access to study materials, videos, and practice tests. Work through the content at your own pace, ensuring that you thoroughly understand the NIHSS and its scoring system.

Step 6: Take the Certification Exam

Upon completing the training, you will need to take a certification exam to demonstrate your understanding of the NIHSS. The exam may consist of multiple-choice questions or require you to assess stroke scenarios. Be sure to review your study materials and practice tests before taking the exam. Most online certification programs allow you to take the exam from the comfort of your own home, with remote proctoring to ensure integrity.

Step 7: Achieve a Passing Score

To obtain NIHSS certification, you must achieve a passing score on the exam. The passing score may vary between providers but is typically around 80%. If you do not pass on your first attempt, you may have the opportunity to retake the exam after a waiting period, often with no additional fee.

Step 8: Receive Your Certification

Upon passing the exam, you will receive your NIHSS certification. This certification is typically valid for a specific period, often two to four years, depending on the provider’s policies. Make sure to keep your certification up to date through re-certification as required.


Obtaining NIHSS certification online is a convenient and accessible way for healthcare professionals to enhance their skills and knowledge in stroke care. Following this step-by-step guide will help you navigate the process smoothly, ensuring that you are well-prepared to assess and care for stroke patients effectively. NIHSS certification is a valuable credential that contributes to the standardization and quality of stroke care in healthcare settings.

  • Leave a Comment